Friday, September 22, 2017

Review: The Law of Tall Girls by Joanne Macgregor

Title: The Law of Tall Girls
Author: Joanne Macgregor
Genre/Age: Romance/YA
Series: None
Publisher: Self-published
Format: ebook via Author
Rating: ✺✺✺
LinksGoodreads
SynopsisWhen you really stand out, can you ever fit in?

Seventeen-year-old Peyton Lane is a tall girl. So tall, it’s the only thing most people notice about her. 

On impulse, she accepts a bet to prove she can be as attractive and desirable as other girls. Now she just needs to go on four dates (including the prom) with one of the guys on her very short list of very tall boys.

Number one on the list is Jay Young – the new guy that Peyton already likes way more than she should. Because not only is Jay already taken, he’s also breaking her Law of Tall Girls, and he’s determined to discover the awful secret she’s been hiding for most of her life.

Funny and romantic, The Law of Tall Girls is a feel-good, heart-warming read for anyone who’s ever felt different, or like they just don’t belong. 

This young adult contemporary romance will appeal to fans of Kasie West, Stephanie Perkins, Jenny Han, Julie Buxbaum and Morgan Matson.


**Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book.**

Learning to love yourself isn't always easy...

Image result for different gif

Peyton is tired of being the odd one out. Being taller than most girls (and most boys too), she gets frustrated when she sees the only taller boys in school dating shorter girls. It messes with the ratios and violates her own proclaimed law that tall boys should never date girls that much shorter than them.

When her coworkers state that Peyton isn't as desirable as other girls because of her height, she is determined to prove them wrong. A bet is made and a debt will be paid, if only she can find find a way to convince one of the taller boys in school to date her and take her to the prom. Should be easy right?

Wrong. The list of boys who meet the required height is short and filled with a variety of personalities. And the boy she really wants isn't even available. Toss in a few crazy dates, a school play, a toxic home life, and a sewing machine. In the end, Peyton may learn that her height isn't the only thing she has to offer the world.

I love a good story set in high school with a colorful cast of characters. Reminds me of my own teenage experience. Then you add in a bet, which is almost always a terrible idea to begin with, and you usually get a wild and crazy ride. This was no exception. From the first few chapters, I knew this book would keep me engaged until the end.

Peyton, to be honest, was a hard character for me to like in the beginning. She was extremely rude to her mother for reasons we were not yet aware of. Her attitude toward short girls and pretty much every girl other than her best friend was outrageous. She definitely rubbed me the wrong way at times with her indignation.

But as the story rolled on, she began to grow on me. I started to see that her attitude was just a mask to hide her major insecurities and the many daily stresses she suffered through. Her family life was in shambles, her dating life was practically nonexistent, and she was just skating by in her school life. The bet gave her something to aim for.

I thought the plot moved at a steady pace and the string of characters we are introduced to were interesting. Jay was a quick favorite of mine but I actually liked several of the other characters too. Chloe was a nice addition and Doug added some humor to the mix. I still didn't love Peyton's attitude in the end but I did understand why she had it.

In closing...
I won't say if the bet is won or not, but the ending was really sweet and left me smiling. Four suns!